Jimi Hendrix Experience – Los Angeles Forum – April 26, 1969 (2022)

Jimi Hendrix Experience – I Don’t Live Today (Live at Los Angeles Forum, 4/26/1969)

1. Introduction
2. Tax Free
3. Foxey Lady
4. Red House
5. Spanish Castle Magic
6. Star Spangled Banner
7. Purple Haze
8. I Don’t Live Today
9. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
10. Sunshine Of Your Love
11. Voodoo Child (Slight Return) (Part Two)

Los Angeles Forum – April 26, 1969 presents an extraordinary performance by the Jimi Hendrix Experience. Before a raucous, sold-out house, Hendrix, drummer Mitch Mitchell and bassist Noel Redding tore through a unique set featuring highlights such as “I Don’t Live Today,” “Purple Haze,” “Red House,” and an astonishing medley of “Voodoo Child (Slight Return)” and Cream’s “Sunshine Of Your Love”. This pristine recording, newly mixed by Hendrix’s longtime engineer Eddie Kramer, captures the original Jimi Hendrix Experience in their unrivaled, peak form. A portion of this performance was previously included as part of a short-lived Westwood One radio documentary box set [Lifelines 1990-1992] but has been unavailable in any form for two decades and this marks its first release on vinyl. The album – complete with liner notes from ZZ Top’s Billy Gibbons who witnessed the show first hand – is available on CD and 2xLP and the digital release marks the first Hendrix album available in spatial audio. Each format gives this seminal performance its proper platform, presenting the complete performance mixed directly from the original eight-track master tapes.